The support.orcid.org website is on a UserVoice platform that has a different privacy policy from our other sites. You may view the details at http://support.orcid.org/tos
X

What information does ORCID retain when I close my account?

ORCID retains your primary email address and the ORCID iD assigned to that address. We keep this information to prevent multiple iDs being associated with the same email. When your account is deactivated, the email address associated with it is set to private and all other information is deleted. Your iD will continue to be stored in the ORCID Registry, together with the URL for your record, but the record displayed will be blank with no identifying information, as there is none to display.

If you do not want your email address associated with any iD in the Registry, please contact us, and we will help remove it.


Explore all help topics at Welcome to ORCID.

Feedback and Knowledge Base