The support.orcid.org website is on a UserVoice platform that has a different privacy policy from our other sites. You may view the details at http://support.orcid.org/tos
X

Deactivating an ORCID account

Welcome to ORCID > Deactivating an ORCID account

You may close your ORCID account at any time by deactivating your record. When you deactivate your ORCID account, all information on the account will will be deleted. However, ORCID will continue to store your email addresses in case you decide to reactivate your account in the future. You can contact us for assistance removing your addresses after deactivating your account.

Accidentally register multiple ORCID iDs? Do not deactivate your account   use the duplicate record removal process to merge the accounts instead.

Navigation


Deactivating your ORCID account

To deactivate your ORCID account, go to your account settings and click Deactivate this ORCID record in the deactivate tab.

click 'Deactivate this ORCID record' to start the account deactivation process'

click the deactivate button

The Registry displays a message box to confirm that an account deactivation message has been issued to your primary email address on your ORCID account.

deactivate message sent box

The account deactivation message will be sent from deactivate@notify.orcid.org. You must click the link in the email to confirm your account deactivation. If you do not receive the email, please contact us for assistance.

example image of the account deactivation message sent to your primary email address

Click on the link in the message to confirm the deactivation of your account. You will be redirected to the ORCID sign-in screen and a deactivation confirmation message will display.

deactivation confirmation

You can reactivate your ORCID account at any time as long as your address(es) remain on the account. If you would like to remove your addresses, please contact us after deactivating your account.


I didn't request account deactivation or do not want to deactivate my account. What do I do?

Your ORCID account will remain active as long as you do not click the deactivation link in the email message sent to you/

If you did not request account deactivation and still receive an account deactivation message, please contact ORCID Support or reply directly to the account deactivation message so we can investigate.


What information does ORCID retain when I close my account?

ORCID retains your primary email address and the ORCID iD assigned to that address. We keep this information to prevent multiple iDs being associated with the same email. When your account is deactivated, the email address associated with it is set to private and all other information is deleted. Your iD will continue to be stored in the ORCID Registry, together with the URL for your record, but the record displayed will be blank with no identifying information, as there is none to display.


If I deactivate my account, can I register for a new ORCID ID?

You will not be able to open a new ORCID account with the same email address associated with the account that has been deactivated. This is to prevent multiple ORCID iDs being created for the same user. You can, however, reactivate a deactivated account, and you can also create a new record using a different email address.


I do not want my email addresses stored in the Registry. How do I remove them?

ORCID continues to store your email addresses after account deactivation in case you decide to reactivate your account in the future.

If you would like to remove your email addresses from the Registry, first deactivate your account and then contact ORCID Support to request removal of your email addresses. You will not then be able to reactivate your ORCID iD at any point in the future.


Explore all help topics at Welcome to ORCID.

Feedback and Knowledge Base