You may close your ORCID account at any time by deactivating your record. When you deactivate your ORCID account, all information on the account will will be deleted.
Accidentally register multiple ORCID iDs? Do not deactivate your account -- use the duplicate record removal process to merge the accounts instead.
- Deactivating your ORCID account
- I didn't request account deactivation or do not want to deactivate my account. What do I do?
- What information does ORCID retain when I close my account?
- If I deactivate my account, can I register a new ORCID ID?
Deactivating your ORCID account
To deactivate your ORCID account, go to your account settings and click Deactivate this ORCID record in the deactivate tab.
The Registry displays a message box to confirm that an account deactivation message has been issued to your primary email address on your ORCID account.
The account deactivation message will be sent from email@example.com. You must click the link in the email to confirm your account deactivation. If you do not receive the email, please contact us for assistance.
Click on the link in the message to confirm the deactivation of your account. You will be redirected to the ORCID sign-in screen and a deactivation confirmation message will display.
Once you deactivate your account, all data is deleted, and your email address is removed from the system. You can reactivate your ORCID account later if you choose to do so.
I didn't request account deactivation or do not want to deactivate my account. What do I do?
Your ORCID account will remain active as long as you do not click the deactivation link in the email message sent to you.
If you did not request account deactivation and still receive an account deactivation message, please contact ORCID or reply directly to the account deactivation message so we can investigate.
What information does ORCID retain when I close my account?
All information on your account, including your email address, is removed from the ORCID Registry when you confirm the deactivation of your ORCID account. Your iD will continue to be stored in the ORCID Registry, together with the URL for your record, but the record displayed will be blank with no identifying information, as there is none to display. A hash of your email address will be separately stored in a private, secure file. We keep this information to ensure that we don’t assign the same identifier to another person.
Deactivating your account may not prevent your ORCID iD from being associated with your name in other systems that you previously connected your iD to. You will need to contact them to have your ORCID iD removed.
If I deactivate my account, can I register a new ORCID ID?
You will not be able to open a new ORCID account with the same email address associated with the account that has been deactivated. This is to prevent multiple ORCID iDs being created for the same user. You can, however, reactivate a deactivated account, and you can also create a new record using a different email address.