Grouping multiple versions of the same work
The same work can be added to your ORCID record from different sources; these multiple connections make the information on your record more authoritative. Where these works have a common identifier (such as a DOI, ISBN, etc.), they are automatically grouped together as they represent the same item. Note that some identifiers are case sensitive and what appears to be two versions of the same identifier (e.g. "11abC" and "11ABC") will not group, while some are case insensitive and will still group even if the cases are different (e.g. "10.125/1xyZ" and "10.125/1XYZ"). If a work does not have an identifier, it cannot be grouped.
Works in ORCID are grouped together based on both their identifiers and those identifiers’ relationship to the work. There are four types of relationships:
- Self: the identifier refers solely to that work and can be grouped with other works that have the same identifier
- Part of: the work is part of this identifier and cannot be grouped with other works
- Version of: these identifiers apply to alternate versions of the work and can be grouped with self and version of identifiers
- Funded by: these identifiers apply to the funding of the work. These identifiers are not used for grouping works
Each group of works is shown in a single box. The default version of the work shown is the one you have selected as the preferred version. To see other versions of the work, click on the number next to the Preferred source indicator.
You can toggle between different versions of the work by clicking on the source information.
You can set which version of the work you would like to display as the preferred version by clicking on the Make preferred source box.
The full details of the work can be displayed or hidden by clicking the Show more detail button on the right hand side.
Combining works into groups
Sometimes similar works on your ORCID record are not grouped together because they have different -- or no -- identifiers. You can group these works together manually by selecting the works, then select the ‘Combine works’ option available under Actions.
The combined works will be grouped together and displayed as one item on your record. All versions will still be available, but only one will be shown as your preferred version. You can change the preferred version as described above.
Automatically managing groups
To help you manage your record, we provide suggestions for items that are listed separately, but which could be combined into a group as they are all the same work. To access these suggestions, select the “Manage similar works” button (which appears if there are suggestions to make).
You will be presented with a list of works that our system has identified as possibly being the same. By selecting ‘Combine selected works,’ these works will be grouped together and displayed as a single item on your record. All versions will still be available, but only one will be shown as your preferred version -- you can change the preferred version as described above.
How you ungroup works that have been combined depends on who added the works:
- If all works were added by a Trusted Organization (ORCID member), then the grouping is done by creating a third work that includes the identifiers for all works. To ungroup the items, simply delete this additional work
- If works have been added by both you and your Trusted Organization(s), we group them by adding the additional identifier to work you created. To ungroup them, you can select the edit function (pencil icon) and delete this identifier
The listing of works on your ORCID record defaults to reverse chronological order, with the most recently published work at the top. You may choose to sort works further as follows:
- By Title: Sorts works by the work's title, and does not ignore determiners (e.g. a, an, the) or stopwords (e.g. if, on, to, what, why).
- By Start: Sorts works in chronological order according to start date.
- By End: Sorts works in chronological order according to end date.
- By Source: Sorts works by source. Works imported from other systems will be shown first.
Note that the sorting selection is not saved. If you choose to sort your works by title, for example, then exit and re-enter your record, the works will again appear listed by date.