The website is on a UserVoice platform that has a different privacy policy from our other sites. You may view the details at

Add a trusted individual to your ORCID record

This article describes how to add a trusted individual who can access your ORCID record. For information on how to access a record as a trusted individual see: Access a record as a trusted individual.



The trusted individual (delegate) feature is used to grant permission to another ORCID user to update your ORCID Record on your behalf. Trusted individuals have access to your ORCID record, and will be able to edit any information on and make connections with external systems. For security reasons, there are several things that require your password to change, so a trusted individual may not edit them including:
  • Adding email addresses
  • Resetting your password
  • Deleting your account (requires access to your email)

Grant access to a trusted individual

To grant access to a trusted individual (delegate) go to the Account Setting tab when you are logged into your ORCID record.

Under Account Settings, scroll down to the Trusted individuals section.

In the search box, enter the ORCID iD, e-mail address, or name of the person you want to make a trusted individual then click search. If you enter an email address or ORCID iD, a pop-up box will ask you to confirm adding that user as a trusted individual, click Add. A user must have an ORCID iD before you can make them a trusted individual.

If you search for a trusted individual by name, a list of matching ORCID records will be listed. Click on the Add button next to the name of the user you wish to make a trusted individual, or click on the user's name to be taken to their ORCID record. If a user is already a trusted individual on your account you can click the trash can icon to remove them.

Manage your trusted individual list

After you have added a trusted individual to your ORCID record, their name and ORCID iD will appear under the Trusted Individual section. To remove a trusted individual from your account click the trash can icon next to the person you wish to remove.

Feedback and Knowledge Base