- Deactivating your ORCID account
- If I deactivate my account, can I register for a new ORCID ID?
- What information does ORCID retain when I close my account?
- Reopening a deactivated account
You can deactivate your ORCID account from your account settings.
Click deactivate this ORCID record then Deactivate my ORCID account. Please only deactivate your account if you no longer want to participate in ORCID. You will not be able to create a new account using the email address associated with the deactivated account and all information associated with it will be lost.
After clicking the link you will be sent an email to complete the process. You must click the link in the email in order to deactivate your account. If you do not receive the email, please contact us.
If I deactivate my account, can I register for a new ORCID ID?
The ORCID Registry does not permit you to register a new ORCID iD with an email address that is already associated with an existing ORCID iD in order to prevent multiple ORCID iDs being created for the same user. You can however reopen a deactivated account (see below).
What information does ORCID retain when I close my account?
ORCID retains your primary email address as well as the ORCID iD assigned to that address. We keep this information to prevent multiple iDs being associated with the same email. When your account is deactivated, the email address associated with it is set to private and all other information is deleted. Your iD will continue to be stored in the ORCID Registry, together with the URL for your record, but the record displayed will be blank with no identifying information.
If you do not want your email address associated with any iD in the Registry, please contact us.
Reopening a deactivated account
Enter the email address associated with your deactivated account in the email field on the ORCID registration or sign-in form, the follow the on-screen instructions to restores the account connected with your primary email address.
You will need to again add any data previously on your record, as it will have all been deleted during the deactivation process.