The Account settings panel in your ORCID record allows you to edit your email address, password, security question, email preferences and to deactivate your account. The Account setting panel also displays information about your trusted organizations and trusted individuals.
When you are signed into your ORCID Account, you will see a tab for Account settings at the top of the screen, you can also access Account Setting at https://orcid.org/account.
This setting lets you change or add email addresses to your record. Each account has one email set as the Primary Email, this is where ORCID will send notifications, if you have opted to receive them, and service announcements about your account. The current/past drop-down menu lets you select if the email address is one you currently can be reached as or an email that you no longer use. The Verify link will send an email message to your address with a link you can follow to verify that you have access to that email address. The trash can icon delete the email address from you account, note that your Primary Email address can not be deleted. The privacy selector let you set privacy level of each email address.
To add a new email address to your account, type it in the 'Add Another Email' box and click add. A verification email will automatically be sent to that address.
In this box you can change your password. First enter your current password then enter the new password twice to confirm it.
This option lets you change the default privacy level of all new works, funding, education and employment items added to your record. You can change the privacy of existing items in your record by using the privacy selector next to each item.
This option you set a security question which must be answered to reset a forgotten password. It can also be used to restore access to your ORCID record if you lose access to your email address.
Here you can decide what types of emails you want to receive from ORCID. If you choose to receive emails when changes are made to your ORCID record, you will get updates when third parties, which you have authorized, add to your record, such as adding publications or affiliations. If you choose to receive email about ORCID news and events you will be sent occasional emails from our staff about ORCID.
This option lets you deactivate your ORCID account. Only close your account if you do not want to participate in ORCID. Once an account is closed, you will not be able to create a new one using the email address associated with the closed account. For more information about deactivating an account see Closing an ORCID Account.